Login with HarvardKey to view all events.
Rice: A Story of Africa and the Americas

Mini-Exhibit: Rice-A Story of Africa and the Americas

Friday, July 8, 2022 9am to 5pm

+ 10 dates

  • Saturday, July 9, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Sunday, July 10, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Monday, July 11, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Tuesday, July 12, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Wednesday, July 13, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Thursday, July 14, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Friday, July 15, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Saturday, July 16, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Sunday, July 17, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Monday, July 18, 2022 9am to 5pm
Rice: A Story of Africa and the Americas

Event Dates

Friday, July 8, 2022 9am to 5pm

Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology, 11 Divinity Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138
Add to calendar

Rice: A Story of Africa and the Americas examines the legacy of rice cultivation in the Americas. Set within the Resetting the Table exhibition, this new mini-exhibit explores the essential African knowledge systems required to establish what became a thriving industry, the horrific human toll the Atlantic Slave Trade took to maintain it, and the vibrant, enduring culture of the Gullah Geechee, descendants of enslaved Africans whose basket making and coastal subsistence traditions continue today.

1 person is interested in this event