Login with HarvardKey to view all events.
Face to Face: Portraits of People of Color Before Photography

Face to Face: Portraits of People of Color Before Photography

By Harvard Library

Friday, July 8, 2022 9am to 5pm

+ 10 dates

  • Monday, July 11, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Tuesday, July 12, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Wednesday, July 13, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Thursday, July 14, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Friday, July 15, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Monday, July 18, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Tuesday, July 19, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Wednesday, July 20, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Thursday, July 21, 2022 9am to 5pm
  • Friday, July 22, 2022 9am to 5pm
Face to Face: Portraits of People of Color Before Photography

Event Dates

Friday, July 8, 2022 9am to 5pm

Houghton Library
Add to calendar

Humans are drawn to faces, and that gives portraits a special power. Portraits have the ability to collapse geographic and historical distances, bringing us into a more intimate dialogue with the past. While Houghton’s collections derive from years of Harvard libraries amassing works primarily produced in Europe and European colonies, they nevertheless contain materials—such as portraits—that can tell far broader, deeper stories. Face to Face: Portraits of People of Color Before Photography showcases portraits of specifically identifiable individuals, what is known of their lives, and the context in which their portraits were made.

This exhibition was curated by John Overholt, Curator of the Donald and Mary Hyde Collection of Dr. Samuel Johnson and of Early Books and Manuscripts.

1 person is interested in this event